Away

away 4s

Soaring still, waiting–
horizon extends beyond
legends, out of view

Water blurs the sand and sky
to reflect gossamer wings

Once again, multiple results from my monoprinting, and multiple sources for the art and poem.  First, Sue Vincent’s (as always) evocative photo, above, “Fading”.

away 1s

I also used the words from Colleen’s #Poetry Challenge #49 and the Secret Keeper’s prompt #104.

away 3s

For the art, I did some monoprints using some Japanese steamer filters that I found on Amazon when I was looking for round paper.  The holes meant I had to put additional paper on top when I was transferring the images, and I’ve used some of those pieces as well.

away 2s

I did a lot of prints and tried out a lot of different arrangements.   These are the ones that I thought best had the feel of the photo and poem.

Tags: , , , , ,

About memadtwo

For more madness, follow me on Instagram @h_zimel

28 responses to “Away”

  1. merrildsmith says :

    Lovely poem, and I like how you explained your artistic process. So creative!

    I thought of all the people awaiting the hurricane, and I hope it soars away quickly, leaving those beautiful gossamer wings and not too much (more) destruction.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sue Vincent says :

    I agree with Merril, Kerfe… and love the inventivemness of the prints too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colleen Chesebro says :

    Gossamer is one of my favorite adjectives! Your creativity knows no bounds. I love your poetry and your art. Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jill Kuhn says :

    Wow! What a cool find for paper!! 🎨👍 Love that there are holes in the paper – I’m going to have to get some paper too! I like how your colors and prints match the photo. All your images are wonderful to go with your poem too. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sueblackpenart says :

    I really like the idea and the work. Above all the poem and the photo! Really nice. My blog’s mainly on clouds (and the sea), too, at least lately. ‘Cos clouds are the best, f*** the rest…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. davekingsbury says :

    The abstraction is really satisfying!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. robbiesinspiration says :

    This post is beautiful. Both the poem and the pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Alethea Kehas says :

    I love your monoprints. I’ve never seen anything like them. They are quite engaging, especially in relation to your poem and Sue’s image.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. D. Wallace Peach says :

    Beautiful poem, and the artwork is fascinating, as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Frank Hubeny says :

    I like how the waviness of water blurs what we see between the sand and the sky.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

